Once applications have been protected via a policy or a manual action, it is possible to restore then in-place or clone them into a different namespace.
Restoring an application is accomplished via the Applications page.
One needs to simply click to expose the dropdown and select
At that point, you will have an option to pick a Restore Point, a grouped collection of data artifacts belonging to the application, to restore from. This view also easily distinguishes manually generated restore points from automated policy-generated ones as well as restore points that are only visible inside the cluster vs. "exported" restore points that can be imported into other clusters.
Selecting a restore point will bring up a side-panel containing more details on the restore point for you to preview, if needed, before you initiate an application restore.
By default, the system will attempt to restore the application into the original namespace the restore point was created from. However, as the above image shows, the target namespace can be changed and new namespaces can even be created at this point. In particular, this functionality can be used to clone an application or workload for debugging or test/dev purposes.
The process of restoring a deleted application is nearly identical to
the above process. The only difference is that, by default, removed
applications are not shown on the Applications page. To discover them,
you simply need to filter and select
Once the filter is in effect, you will see applications that K10 has previously protected but no longer exist. These can now be restored by clicking on the dropdown.
Once you click
Restore Application, the system will automatically
recreate the entire application stack into the selected
namespace. This not only includes the data associated with the
original application but also the versioned container images.
Restore can take a few minutes as this depends on the amount of data captured by the restore point. The restore time is dominated by how long it takes to rehydrate this data in the underlying cloud provider followed by recreating the application containers. Please be patient.
After restore completes, you will be able to go back to your application and verify that the state was restored to what existed at the time the restore point was obtained.