In a multi-cluster setup, one cluster is designated as primary, while all others are designated as secondaries. All primary and secondary clusters must have K10 installed. See Installing K10 for instructions.


The cluster from which the K10 Multi-Cluster Manager will be accessed is designated as primary.

The primary cluster defines policies and other configuration centrally. Centrally defined policies and configuration can then be distributed to designated clusters to be enacted.

The primary cluster also aggregates metrics so that they may be reported centrally.

This provides a single pane of glass through which all clusters in the system are managed.


  • Network

    • Primary K10's ingress must be accessible by secondary clusters


Non-primary clusters are designated as secondaries.

The secondary clusters receive policies and other configuration from the primary cluster. Once policies are distributed to a secondary, the local K10 installation enacts the policy. This ensures that the policy will continue to be enforced, even if disconnected from the primary.


  • Network

    • Secondary K10's ingress must be accessible by the primary

    • Secondary API Server must be accessible by the primary